Skip to Main Content
Cloud Platform


This is an IBM Automation portal for Cloud Platform products. To view all of your ideas submitted to IBM, create and manage groups of Ideas, or create an idea explicitly set to be either visible by all (public) or visible only to you and IBM (private), use the IBM Unified Ideas Portal (https://ideas.ibm.com).


Shape the future of IBM!

We invite you to shape the future of IBM, including product roadmaps, by submitting ideas that matter to you the most. Here's how it works:

Search existing ideas

Start by searching and reviewing ideas and requests to enhance a product or service. Take a look at ideas others have posted, and add a comment, vote, or subscribe to updates on them if they matter to you. If you can't find what you are looking for,

Post your ideas
  1. Post an idea.

  2. Get feedback from the IBM team and other customers to refine your idea.

  3. Follow the idea through the IBM Ideas process.


Specific links you will want to bookmark for future use

Welcome to the IBM Ideas Portal (https://www.ibm.com/ideas) - Use this site to find out additional information and details about the IBM Ideas process and statuses.

IBM Unified Ideas Portal (https://ideas.ibm.com) - Use this site to view all of your ideas, create new ideas for any IBM product, or search for ideas across all of IBM.

ideasibm@us.ibm.com - Use this email to suggest enhancements to the Ideas process or request help from IBM for submitting your Ideas.


Status Delivered
Workspace UrbanCode
Categories Deploy
Created by Guest
Created on Nov 29, 2022

Cleanup restriction to block possibility of change cleanup settings by users.

Now UCD Users can bypass default cleanup settings which Admin set in System Settings on Component or Environment level. There is no feature to block users from override cleanup settings which in results can cause enormous disc usage on Codestation repository.

Idea priority Urgent
  • Admin
    Randy Langehennig
    Reply
    |
    Mar 11, 2024

    Hi, my apologies for not changing the appropriate status but this Idea is now in the 'Delivered' status and it was delivered in the 8.0.0 (December 2023) release.

  • Guest
    Reply
    |
    Mar 13, 2023

    Hi team,

    The problem is how to restrict these changes by not letting users to modify cleanup settings on components or environments. The best would be to keep this option with tool admins only. I am not sure how this feature will help us in achieving that. We have about 30k components, 6k applications with minimum 3 environments in each. Filtering on so much data will impact the performance.

    I believe UCD team should think about first restricting the control on systems settings and for the new feature offered it should be more based on TYPE (so for e.g., enterprises with data retention policies for PROD) can have prod deployed artifacts for say 7 years. Thanks.

    2 replies
  • Guest
    Reply
    |
    Jan 24, 2023

    Thank You for your input.

    The Cleanup config feature also allows to overwrite the settings to inherit the syystem settings. But it maybe not enough for your part.


    Adding new role permission features takes time as it has to be thouroughly designed and tested to prevent unwanted sideeffects.

    I will check with Development for more details.

  • Guest
    Reply
    |
    Jan 24, 2023

    Greetings Osman!,

    Cleanup configuration feature from UCD 7.3 is not fit for our purpose as it's only allow to view settings on single view but it does not have any option to block user from changing default cleanup settings for their component or environment which in results, in our case, provide to enormous usage of Codestation and constantly adding more disc space, just for giving right perspective our Codestation have now 22 TB for UCD1 PRD and 9 TB for UCD3 PRD and we still need to keep add disc space...

    As for now I can see Status of Idea is "Future consideration". Is there any way to give us any clue in which version of UCD this feature will be enabled and when approximately are plan to release that version to us ?

    So due to above we still very eager to see this functionality as soon as possible...


    Best Regards!

    Pawel

  • Guest
    Reply
    |
    Dec 2, 2022

    Adding new restrictions which needs to be controlled by roles&permissions makes the configuration of UrbanCode Deploy much more complex.

    To address this challenge the cleanup configuration feature was introduced with UCD Version 7.3 where you can view and override the cleanup settings. Here is the documentation link: https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/urbancode-deploy/7.3.0?topic=versions-configuring-cleanup-settings

  • Guest
    Reply
    |
    Nov 30, 2022

    Technically this is possible. A custom patch was developed for v7032. I guess due to change in groovy version a new patch has to be developed. If this can be added as a feature within Udeploy it can become a standard feature in future versions.

    3 replies
1 MERGED

Urbancode Deploy - Artifact cleanup

Merged
Hi Team, Creating this idea again as my latest comment on I-484 was not visible and I474 URL is not working. Combining both requirements around artifacts together - Requirement - 1 Urbancode Deploy - Add Role based Team Permission for Artifact Cle...
over 1 year ago in UrbanCode / Deploy 5 Delivered
1 MERGED

Urbancode Deploy - Add Role based Team Permission for Artifact Cleanup

Merged
Hi, Please provide a role based permission for artifact cleanup on the component, environment level as well.For a large enterprise, it is very difficult to check and control what files are being uploaded by various app dev teams and how many sna...
almost 2 years ago in UrbanCode / Deploy 6 Delivered